A Midwife S Tale Description: WINNER OF THE PULITZER PRIZE Drawing on the diaries of one woman in eighteenth-century Maine, this intimate history illuminates the medical practices, household economies, religious rivalries, and sexual mores of the New England frontier. Between 1785 and 1812 a midwife and healer named Martha Ballard kept a diary that recorded her arduous work (in 27 years she attended 816 births) as well as her domestic life in Hallowell, Maine. On the basis of that diary, Laurel Thatcher Ulrich gives us an intimate and densely imagined portrait, not only of the industrious and reticent Martha Ballard but of her society. At once lively and impeccably scholarly, A Midwife's Tale is a triumph of history on a human scale.


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Book Details

Genre : Social Science
Publisher : Vintage
ISBN-13 : 9780307772985
Copyright Year : 2010-12-22
File Format : All Formats
File Download/Read : 464
Price : FREE
Hannah Description: In the village of Steadman's Cove the tall, lithe, fair-haired Hannah stood out in her struggle to adapt to the traditional role of the women in northe Newfoundland. As the local Midwife, the comforter for the undoctored cove and the neighbouring hamlets along the coast, Hannah was accustomed to being called at all hours to travel by dog team and sled through the perilous night to deliver a baby, ease someone's pain, sooth someone's dying. The novel is sustained by a metaphysical magic as Hannah transcends the daring challenges of a northe outpost during the era when the island became Canada's tenth province in 1949. Tenderly women throughout the novel are sparkling threads of Hannah's love for an American surgeon with whom she closely shares the vigils with the sick. Playing over in the readers mind are the vivid images and the symbolism by which the author portrays her admiration for the outport people, whose courage she saw mirrored in the timeless tides of the sea and etched on the rock upon which they built their homes, staking their faith in themselves and each other. Robina Salter, who has served as a science writer at the University of Toronto, has written fiction for children and adults. Today, while continuing to write, she also teaches the art of creative writing"". During the two years that Salter worked in Northe Newfoundland, she came to respect and admire its people. It was here in Newfoundland that she was inspired to write Hannah a Midwife's Tale.


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Book Details

Genre : Fiction
Publisher : St. John's, Nfld. : Breakwater
ISBN-13 : 1550811371
Copyright Year : 1998-04-01
File Format : All Formats
File Download/Read : 256
Price : FREE
The Midwife S Tale Description: In the tradition of Arianna Franklin and C. J. Sansom comes Samuel Thomas's remarkable debut, The Midwife's Tale It is 1644, and Parliament's armies have risen against the King and laid siege to the city of York. Even as the city suffers at the rebels' hands, midwife Bridget Hodgson becomes embroiled in a different sort of rebellion. One of Bridget's friends, Esther Cooper, has been convicted of murdering her husband and sentenced to be burnt alive. Convinced that her friend is innocent, Bridget sets out to find the real killer. Bridget joins forces with Martha Hawkins, a servant who's far more skilled with a knife than any respectable woman ought to be. To save Esther from the stake, they must dodge rebel artillery, confront a murderous figure from Martha's past, and capture a brutal killer who will stop at nothing to cover his tracks. The investigation takes Bridget and Martha from the homes of the city's most powerful families to the alleyways of its poorest neighborhoods. As they delve into the life of Esther's murdered husband, they discover that his ostentatious Puritanism hid a deeply sinister secret life, and that far too often tyranny and treason go hand in hand.


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Book Details

Genre : Fiction
Publisher : Minotaur Books
ISBN-13 : 9781250010773
Copyright Year : 2013-01-08
File Format : All Formats
File Download/Read : 320
Price : FREE
The Midwife S Tale Description: “I come from a long line of midwives,” narrates Elizabeth Whitely. “I was expected to follow Mama, follow Granny, follow Great-granny. In the end, I didn’t disappoint them. Or perhaps I did. After all, there were no more midwives after me.”For generations, the women in Elizabeth’s family have brought life to Kettle Valley, West Virginia, heeding a destiny to tend its women with herbals, experience, and wisdom. But Elizabeth, who has comforted so many, has lost her heart to the one man who cannot reciprocate, even when she moves into his home to share his bed and raise his child. Then Lauren Denniker, Elizabeth’s adopted daughter, begins to display a miraculous gift--just as Elizabeth learns that she herself is unable to have a child. How Elizabeth comes to free herself from a loveless relationship, grapple with Lauren’s astonishing abilities, and come to terms with her own emptiness is the compelling heart of this remarkable tale. Incorporating the spirited mountain mythology of prewar Appalachia, Gretchen Laskas has crafted a story as true to our time as its own, and a cast of characters as poignant as they are entirely original. From the Hardcover edition.


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Book Details

Genre : Fiction
Publisher : Delta
ISBN-13 : 0307488233
Copyright Year : 2008-12-10
File Format : All Formats
File Download/Read : 256
Price : FREE
The Midwife S Tale Description: Mothers and midwives reveal the wonders and difficulties of early twentieth century childbirth in this informative and insightful healthcare history. Before the foundation of the United Kingdom’s National Health Service (NHS) in 1948, expectant mothers relied on midwives to help them through childbirth. Based on interviews conducted with dozens and mothers and retired midwives over several years, Billie Hunter and Nicky Leap’s The Midwife’s Tale shares the stories of these women in their own words, shedding light on their experiences and on the realities of childbirth in the first half of the twentieth century. Intriguing, poignant, and sometimes humorous, this oral history covers the experiences of women from the 1910s through the 1950s including accounts of the difficulties of rearing large families in poverty-stricken environments and the lack of information about contraception and abortion—even as midwifery changed from an unqualified “handywoman” skill to an actual profession.


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Book Details

Genre : Health & Fitness
Publisher : Pen and Sword
ISBN-13 : 9781473829985
Copyright Year : 2013-10-17
File Format : All Formats
File Download/Read : 256
Price : FREE
Good Wives Description: This enthralling work of scholarship strips away abstractions to reveal the hidden--and not always stoic--face of the "goodwives" of colonial America. In these pages we encounter the awesome burdens--and the considerable power--of a New England housewife's domestic life and witness her occasional forays into the world of men. We see her borrowing from her neighbors, loving her husband, raising--and, all too often, mourning--her children, and even attaining fame as a heroine of frontier conflicts or notoriety as a murderess. Painstakingly researched, lively with scandal and homely detail, Good Wives is history at its best.


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Book Details

Genre : Social Science
Publisher : Vintage
ISBN-13 : 9780307772978
Copyright Year : 2010-12-29
File Format : All Formats
File Download/Read : 336
Price : FREE
Catching Babies Description: A midwife's heartwarming and inspirational true story Catching Babies is a moving account of an extraordinary career. It reveals the unique experiences that filled midwife Sheena Byrom's days as she looked after mums and dads and helped to bring their precious babies into the world. From her very first day as a nervous student nurse in Blackburn to the dedicated completion of her midwifery qualifications in Burnley, Sheena has never once looked back, enjoying a thirty-five-year career with the NHS. At the forefront of evolving medical practices, she was the first midwife to oversee a home water birth in her area, but also found herself at the centre of a traumatic delivery that tested her to her limits. Yet, whatever has come Sheena's way, ultimately, there are the strong mothers who taught her so much and the little miracles who have made every single moment as a midwife truly magical.


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Book Details

Genre : Biography & Autobiography
Publisher : Headline
ISBN-13 : 9780755362738
Copyright Year : 2011-11-24
File Format : All Formats
File Download/Read : 340
Price : FREE
Well Behaved Women Seldom Make History Description: Examines three key works by women--the fifteenth-century "Book of the City of Ladies" by Christine de Pizan, Elizabeth Cady Stanton's memoirs, and Virginia Woolf's "A Room of One's Own," to explore the making of history from a woman's perspective.


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Book Details

Genre : Biography & Autobiography
Publisher : Vintage
ISBN-13 : 9781400075270
Copyright Year : 2008
File Format : All Formats
File Download/Read : 284
Price : FREE
The Archaeology Of Mothering Description: Using archaeological materials recovered from a housesite in Mobile, Alabama, Laurie Wilkie explores how one extended African-American family engaged with competing and conflicting mothering ideologies in the post-Emancipation South.


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Book Details

Genre : Biography & Autobiography
Publisher : Psychology Press
ISBN-13 : 0415945704
Copyright Year : 2003
File Format : All Formats
File Download/Read : 240
Price : FREE
The Midwife S Tale At Home In Trinity Book 1 Description: Martha Cade comes from a long line of midwives who have served the families of Trinity, Pennsylvania, for generations. A widow with two grown children, she's hopeful that her daughter will follow in her footsteps, but when Victoria runs off, Martha's world is shattered. Worse, a new doctor has arrived in town, threatening her job, and she can't remember a time when her faith has been tested more. Still determined to do the work she knows God intended for her, Martha is unprepared for all that waits ahead. Whether it's trying to stop a town scandal, mending broken relationships, or feeling the first whispers of an unexpected romance, she faces every trial and every opportunity with hope and faith. Praise for The Midwife's Tale "Fans of Jan Karon's Mitford series should love Parr's work."--Philadelphia Inquirer "This story has every good thing--believably flawed characters, romance, humor, and even a bit of mystery."--Julie Klassen, bestselling author of The Secret of Pembrooke Park "I was reluctant to say farewell to my new friends from Trinity."--Bestselling author Robin Lee Hatcher "This book has plot twists that are rarely predictable and yet always plausible. Compelling."--Ft. Lauderdale Sun-Sentinel


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Book Details

Genre : Fiction
Publisher : Baker Books
ISBN-13 : 9781441228512
Copyright Year : 2015-05-26
File Format : All Formats
File Download/Read : 336
Price : FREE